The Federal Government has inaugurated the Committee on the implementation and review of reports and White Papers on the Restructuring and Rationalisation of Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies, and Commissions also known as the Steve Oronsaye Report.

The committee inaugurated on Thursday will be headed by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF, George Akume.

Speaking, Akume who inaugurated the committee on behalf of President Bola Tinubu, said the Oronsaye report was aimed at reducing cost of governance and streamlining efficiency.

A statement by the Director, Information, Office of the SGF, Segun Imohiosen, said Tinubu gave the committee a 12-week deadline to submit its report.

The statement reads: “The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Sen. George Akume, CON, while inaugurating the Committee on behalf of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu stressed that the implementation of the White Papers on the report which would involve the merger, relocation, subsuming or scrapping of some Parastatals, Agencies, and Commissions is aimed at reducing cost of governance and streamlining efficiency across the governance value chain,” the statement read.

“President Tinubu’s approval for the implementation of the Oronsaye report comes twelve years after the panel submitted its report and multiple attempts were made at implementing its recommendations.”

He listed members of the committee to include:

SEN. GEORGE AKUME, FNIM, CON – Secretary to the Government of the Federation

LATEEF OLASUNKANMI FAGBEMI, SAN – Attorney General of the Federation/ Minister of Justice

SEN. ABUBAKAR ATIKU BAGUDU, CON – Minister of Budget & Economic Planning

DR. FOLASHADE YEMI-ESAN, CFR – Head of the Civil Service of the Federation

USMAN HADIZA BALA – Special Adviser to the President, Policy & Coordination

DR. DASUKI IBRAHIM ARABI – Director-General Bureau of Public Service Reform

SEN. ABDULLAHI ABUBAKAR GUMEL – Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate)

HON. IBRAHIM KUNLE OLAREWAJU – Senior Special Assistant to the President on the National Assembly (House of Representatives)

HAKEEM MURI OKUNOLA – Principal Secretary to the President

RICHARD P. PHEELANGWAH – Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office.

Akume outlined the general guidelines of the Committee as follows:

Review current mandates to understand the existing functions, responsibilities, and objectives outlined in the mandates of the Agencies.

Identify redundancies and overlaps or conflicting objectives among the mandates of different organisational units.

Define strategic objectives to ensure the revised mandates align with the strategic objectives and priorities of the government.

Engage key stakeholders and gather input and feedback on the proposed revisions to the mandates.

Draft clear, concise, and actionable revised mandates for the organisations involved in the restructuring.

Ensure the revised mandates comply with all applicable laws, regulations, and policies governing government operations.

Obtain necessary approvals from relevant authorities for the revised mandates.

Effectively communicate the revised mandates to employees and stakeholders.

Implement the revised mandates effectively and monitor their implementation to identify any issues or challenges.

Tinubu inaugurate committee on implementation of Oronsaye report, issues 12-week deadline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *