Governor Mohammed Umaru Bago of Niger State has inaugurated a 16-member governing council for the newly established state-owned Abdulkadir Kure University of Education, Minna.

Bago, while inaugurating the governing council at the Government House, Minna, said the state government is poised to give priority to education from the basic to the tertiary level.

He explained that soon the University of Agriculture and Climate Change, Mokwa, and the University of Technology and Innovation, Zungeru, will come on board.

The governor told the council members: ” This event is historic and I appreciate you accepting to key into the “New Niger” vision. I assure the board that funding has already been secured for the take-off of the institution. A committee is already in place to look at the drawings needed for the continuous development of the institution.”

He also disclosed that the University of Education will soon be transformed into a conventional one as a result of the gap in the capacity of people and children in such fields as medicine, aviation, science and technology, and climate change, among others.

Bago revealed that scholarships will be introduced for all students in public schools who score five credits, including English and Mathematics, to study at the university.

Furthermore, the governor said the decision to invest heavily in the IBBU Lapai Teaching Hospital, Minna, is because it is going to serve all universities within the state that are going to have medicine and other medical science-related courses in their curricula.

Earlier, the Pro-Chancellor of Abdulkadir Kure University of Education, Minna, Prof Mohammed Yahaya Kuta, stated that the National Universities Commission, NUC, had approved all 41 programmes submitted but 14 were to be implemented in the 2023–2024 academic session.

He also disclosed that the NUC approved a 3,000 admission quota and the institution has communicated with the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, for immediate admission processes.

The 16-member governing council of the university includes the Pro-Chancellor, Prof. Kuta Yahaya, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Muhammad Aliyu Paiko, and Prof. Tsado Jacob, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

Others are Dr Garba Abdullahi (Registrar), Hajiya Hajara Kuso (Bursar), Dr Abubakar Abdullahi ( Director, Academic Planning), Garba Muhammad Shambo (Librarian I) and Maryam Suloboyi (Librarian II).

Those who will serve as council members are Haijya Kere Ahmed, Muhammad Dattijo Usman, Barrister Abbas Bello, Hajiya Hassana Adamu, Abdullahi Lawal Maikano, Hamidu Jantabo Mu’azu and Abdullahi Adamu Mamagi.

Gov Bago inaugurates varsity’s 16-member governing council

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *